Ethereum

Ethereum is a decentralized block chain protocol designed to execute Smart Contracts and build decentralized applications (dapps) on a distributed computer platform.

Ethereum uses the internal crypto currency Ether (ETH) as a means of payment for transaction processing by participating computers.

The Ethereum white paper was published in late 2013 and the project was officially announced at a Bitcoin conference in early 2014. Vitalik Buterin, co-founder of Ethereum, started designing the protocol due to some limitations in the Bitcoin protocol. Ethereum was officially launched in mid-2015 with the informally declared goal of supporting “unstoppable applications”.

The Ethereum Foundation, founded in 2014, is a non-profit organization focused on Ethereum and dedicated to research, development of core protocols and growth of Ethereum ecosystems. The Ethereum Foundation oversaw the Ether Crowdsale in July 2014.

The current Ethereum Blockchain (ETH) was split off from the original Ethereum Classic Blockchain (ETC) in a “hardfork” on July 20, 2016. This hard-fork was initiated after an error in the Smart Contract of the Decentralized Autonomous Organization (DAO) of Ethereum, which resulted in 3.6 million ethers being stolen. Since then, both block chains have continued under their respective names.

Also, most of the DeFi applications are based on Ethereum.

DeFi is an abbreviation for the term decentralised financing. In general, it refers to Ethereum-based applications (DApps) that offer financing in form of Smart Contracts against collateral in form of crypto-assets.

Share.

Ethereum

Ethereum ist ein dezentrales Blockchain Protokoll, welches zur Ausführung von Smart Contracts und dem Aufbau dezentraler Anwendungen (dapps) auf einer verteilten Computerplattform konzipiert wurde.

Ethereum verwendet die interne Krypto-Währung Ether (ETH) als Zahlungsmittel für Transaktionsverarbeitungen, welche durch teilnehmende Computer abgewickelt werden.

Das Ethereum-Whitepaper wurde Ende 2013 veröffentlicht, und das Projekt wurde Anfang 2014 auf einer Bitcoin-Konferenz offiziell angekündigt. Vitalik Buterin, Mitbegründer von Ethereum, begann mit der Gestaltung des Protokolls aufgrund einiger Einschränkungen im Bitcoin-Protokoll. Ethereum wurde Mitte 2015 offiziell gestartet mit dem informell erklärten Ziel, „unaufhaltsame Anwendungen“ zu unterstützen.

Die Ethereum Foundation, gegründet 2014, ist eine auf Ethereum ausgerichtete gemeinnützige Organisation, die sich der Forschung, der Entwicklung von Kernprotokollen und dem Wachstum von Ethereum-Ökosystemen widmet. Die Ethereum Foundation betreute den Ether Crowdsale im Juli 2014.

Die aktuelle Ethereum Blockchain (ETH) wurde am 20. Juli 2016 in einem „hard-fork“  von der ursprünglichen Ethereum Classic Blockchain (ETC) abgespalten. Dieser „hard-fork“ wurde nach einem Fehler im Smart Contract der „Dezentralen Autonomen Organisation (DAO)“ von Ethereum initiiert, welcher zur Folge hatte, dass 3.6 Mio Ether gestohlen wurden. Seitan werden beide Block-Chains unter ihren jeweiligen Namen weitergeführt.

Auch basiert der grösste Teil der DeFi Anwendungen auf Ethereum

DeFi ist eine Abkürzung für den Begriff dezentrale Finanzierung. Im Allgemeinen sind damit auf Ethereum basierende Anwendungen (DApps) gemeint, die in der Form von Smart Contracts Finanzierungen gegen Sicherheiten in Form von Krypto-Assets bieten.

Share.