Tether

Founded in July 2014 by Brock Pierce, Craig Sellars and Reeve Collins, Tether (USDT), originally known as “Realcoin”, is a crypto-currency commonly known as “Stablecoin”, which aims at a fixed exchange ratio of 1:1 to the US dollar. Tether was one of the earliest Stablecoins and built on Mastercoin (Omni), a protocol layer for Bitcoin that introduced the Stablecoin concept worldwide in 2012. They pioneered what is now known as the fiat-certified stablecoin model, and USDT is currently the most widely used stablecoin.

Tether was created as an attempt to solve two major problems with the existing crypto-currencies: High volatility and convertibility between fiat currencies and crypto currencies. To address these supposed problems, Tether created a crypto currency that is fully hedged 1:1 by deposits of US dollars in banks. On Ethereum, USDT tokens are represented as ERC-20 tokens, while on Bitcoin, Tether uses the Omni layer to represent USDT tokens. While the tokens themselves operate in a decentralized network, Hong Kong-based Tether Ltd. is solely responsible for generating and redeeming the tokens and maintaining the 1:1 deposit protection.

Stock exchanges have been the main users of USDT as an alternative to fiat currencies, reducing or eliminating the need to maintain external banking relationships. Notable exchanges using the token include Bitfinex, Bittrex, Binance, Coinbase, Kraken, Huobi, Poloniex, Liquid.io, Gate.io and OKEx. Tether Ltd. shares many senior executives and maintains close relationships with Hong Kong-based Bitfinex, both of which are part of the same parent company iFinex Inc.

Share.

Tether

Gegründet im Juli 2014 von Brock Pierce, Craig Sellars und Reeve Collins, ist Tether (USDT), ursprünglich bekannt als „Realcoin“, eine Kryptowährung, die allgemein als „Stablecoin“ bekannt ist und ein festes Tauschverhältnis von 1:1 zum US-Dollar anstrebt. Tether war eine der frühesten Stablecoins, und baute auf Mastercoin (Omni) auf, einer Protokollschicht für Bitcoin, die das Stablecoin-Konzept 2012 weltweit einführte. Sie leisteten Pionierarbeit für das, was heute als fiat-besichertes Stablecoin-Modell bekannt ist, und USDT ist momentan der am weitesten verbreitete Stablecoin.

Tether wurde als Versuch geschaffen, zwei Hauptprobleme mit den bestehenden Kryptowährungen zu lösen: Hohe Volatilität und Konvertibilität zwischen Fiat-Währungen und Kryptowährungen. Um diese vermeintlichen Probleme anzugehen, schuf Tether eine Kryptowährung, die 1:1 durch Einlagen von US-Dollar bei Banken vollständig abgesichert ist. Auf Ethereum werden USDT-Tokens als ERC-20 Tokens dargestellt, während Tether auf Bitcoin die Omni-Schicht verwendet, um USDT-Tokens darzustellen. Während die Tokens selbst in einem dezentralisierten Netzwerk operieren, ist die in Hongkong ansässige Tether Ltd. allein für die Erzeugung und Einlösung der Tokens sowie für die Aufrechterhaltung der 1:1 Einlagensicherung verantwortlich.

Börsen waren die Hauptnutzer des USDT als Alternative zu Fiat-Währungen, wodurch die Notwendigkeit, externe Bankbeziehungen zu unterhalten, reduziert oder eliminiert wurde. Erwähnenswerte Börsen, die den Token verwenden, sind Bitfinex, Bittrex, Binance, Coinbase, Kraken, Huobi, Poloniex, Liquid.io, Gate.io und OKEx. Tether Ltd. teilt viele Führungskräfte und unterhält enge Beziehungen zu Bitfinex mit Sitz in Hongkong, wobei beide zur selben Mutterorganisation iFinex Inc. gehören.

Share.