Halving (Bitcoin)

The Bitcoin Blockreward is halved every 4 years, which leads to lower inflation.
In May 2020 the time for a halving has come again. The fee miners receive to secure the network in the form of newly created Bitcoins is halved to 6.25 Bitcoin per block.

This is laid down in the Bitcoin protocol. This fee is halved every 4 years, hence the term “halving” (sometimes also the term “halvening is used). Thus the number of newly created Bitcoins is reduced until the maximum amount of 21 million Bitcoins has been reached in 2140 and no more Bitcoins are created.

The Bitcoin is a limited digital good, similar to silver or gold. See our article (Bitcoin – a currency with clear rules). When Bitcoin was launched in 2009, the initial reward for mining was 50 BTC. In November 2012 it was 25 BTC and by July 2016 it was 12.5 BTC.

As with other types of assets, the Bitcoin price depends on supply and demand. Due to “halving”, fewer Bitcoins come into circulation and supply becomes scarcer. The issuing speed and the inflation rate, respectively, are increasingly reduced. In the medium term, this fact should basically have positive effect on price.

Share.

Halving (Bitcoin)

Der Bitcoin Blockreward halbiert sich alle 4 Jahre, was zu einer geringer werdenden Inflation führt.
Im Mai 2020 ist es wieder soweit. Der Entgelt den Miner zur Sicherstellung des Netzwerks in Form von neu geschaffenen Bitcoins erhalten, halbiert sich auf 6.25 Bitcoin pro Block.

So ist es im Bitcoin Protokoll festgelegt. Dieser Entgelt halbiert sich alle 4 Jahre, daher der Begriff «halving». Somit reduziert sich Zahl der neu geschaffenen Bitcoins bis rein rechnerisch im Jahre 2140 keine Bitcoins mehr geschaffen werden und die maximale Menge von 21 Mio Bitcoins erreicht ist.

Der Bitcoin ist ein limitiertes digitales Gut, ähnlich wie Silber oder Gold. Siehe dazu unser Artikel (Bitcoin, eine Währung mit klaren Regeln). Als der Bitcoin 2009 ins Leben gerufen wurde, lag die anfängliche Belohnung für das «Mining» bei 50 BTC. Im November 2012 waren es noch 25 BTC und um Juli 2016 dementsprechend 12,5 BTC.

Wie bei manchen Vermögensarten, hängt der Bitcoin Preis von Angebot und Nachfrage ab. Durch das «Halving» kommen weniger Bitcoins in Umlauf, das Angebot wird knapper. Die Ausgabegeschwindigkeit respektive die Inflationsrate reduziert sich zunehmend. Auf mittlere Frist ist dieser Fakt für den Wert grundsätzlich positiv.

Share.