Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

The Game of Life

July 12, 2020 - April 30, 2021

The Game of Life – Emergence in Generative Art

This online exhibition is a tribute to the mathematician John Horton Conway who recently passed away from COVID-19. Among Conway’s many gifts to the world was his famous “Game of Life” theory popularized in a 1970 article in Scientific American.

Due to great success Kate Vass Galerie is glad to announce that the show ‘The Game of Life – Emergence in Generative Art’ has been extended until the end of April 2021. You can dive into the exhibition and bet on some of the NFT artworks on SuperRare.

Complex worlds from simple rules

The game uses four simple rules to create a seemingly infinite amount of complex behavior and visual patterns. Conway’s work on cellular automata along with others like Stephen Wolfram has been inspirational for many of this generation’s most talented Generative Artists. This exhibition explores how complex visual systems can emerge from relatively simple algorithms to create art than can reframe the way we see the world.

Included in this show are four generative artists: Jared S TarbellAlexander RebenKjetil Golid, and Manolo Gamboa Naon.

Details

Start:
July 12, 2020
End:
April 30
Event Tags:
,
Website:
https://cvj.li/A74z2

Venue

Kate Vass Galerie
Website:
https://cvj.li/66JSx
dobalance

Lade Veranstaltungen

« Alle Veranstaltungen

The Game of Life

Juli 12, 2020 - April 30, 2021

The Game of Life – Emergenz der Generativen Kunst

Diese Online-Ausstellung ist eine Hommage an den Mathematiker John Horton Conway, der kürzlich an COVID-19 verstorben ist. Zu Conways vielen Geschenken an die Welt gehörte seine berühmte „Game of Life“ Theorie, welche 1970 in einem Artikel im Scientific American popularisiert wurde.

Aufgrund des grossen Erfolges freut sich die Kate Vass Galerie mitteilen zu können, dass die Ausstellung ‚The Game of Life – Emergence in Generative Art‚ bis Ende April 2021 verlängert wurde. Sie können in die Ausstellung eintauchen und bei SuperRare auf einige der NFT-Kunstwerke bieten.

Komplexe Welten aus einfachen Regeln

Das Spiel nutzt vier einfache Regeln, um eine scheinbar unendliche Menge an komplexen Verhaltensweisen und visuellen Mustern zu erzeugen. Conways Arbeit – zusammen mit anderen wie Stephen Wolfram – über zelluläre Automaten war eine Inspiration für viele der talentiertesten Generativen Künstler dieser Generation. Diese Ausstellung erforscht, wie aus relativ einfachen Algorithmen komplexe visuelle Systeme entstehen können, um Kunst zu schaffen, welche die Art und Weise, wie wir die Welt sehen, neu gestalten kann.

In dieser Ausstellung sind vier generative Künstler vertreten: Jared S TarbellAlexander RebenKjetil Golid, und Manolo Gamboa Naon.

Details

Beginn:
Juli 12, 2020
Ende:
April 30
Veranstaltung-Tags:
, ,
Website:
https://cvj.li/A74z2

Veranstaltungsort

Kate Vass Galerie
Website:
https://cvj.li/66JSx
dobalance